Peas and Violence

I know most of us, at some point in our lives, have seen the play on words involving peace and those little round green veggies we call peas. Kind of funny, isn’t it? Well, sure it is. But why?

Well, in the simplest terms, we’re human and violent behavior is an innate characteristic for us. It just happens but we try our best to moderate it. I had actually written a few paragraphs about violence and anger but none of it was coming out right and I couldn’t even figure out what I was trying to say. It probably would have been seen by some random reader as extremely politically incorrect anyway. (Remind me to write an entry about political correctness for next time.) So rather than fuss over this touchy issue with my ramblings and opinions of anger and violence, I’m simply going to introduce the subject.

And why would I do such a thing, you ask? Because it’s a taboo. And I believe that every taboo should be talked about. If there’s something that people don’t like talking about, it’s because it makes people uncomfortable. But if we’re ever going to make any progress, don’t you think we should face the things we’re uncomfortable with? It’s just food for thought. And everybody could use a little food for thought every now and again.

So, for now, I’ll leave you with this interesting video I came across on YouTube. Take a looksie.. and then think about the things that good ol’ John said.

6 thoughts on “Peas and Violence

  1. Great video, and interesting thoughts. Violence and anger are innate for us — but that was previously for killing prey. We don’t do that anymore, so… Why is man so violent to his fellow man?

  2. Thanks for the comment. Well, why does man still have his appendix and tonsils? While the violent streak within us can get infected too, it cannot be removed like the appendix and tonsils can. My gut tells me that we are violent against each other as a means of keeping the human race going. And then here is where I lapse into a discussion of the survival of the species and the Darwinian nature of the human time line darting upwards and downwards and sometimes plateauing somewhere in the middle. Violence, amongst a few other things, makes this possible.

  3. Competition in Darwinism is mainly… Between species, not in them. Natural selection is dependent on other species to eliminate those that do not have a favorable adaptation, not their own.

    For all our intelligence, Homo Sapiens’ big brains probably makes it easier to rationalize killing one of our own.

  4. Actually, I beg to differ with your suggestion that competition is not within species but only between them. One of Darwin’s first studies involved finches with different beak sizes. Depending on what food source was available, finches with beaks of one size would die off and finches with beaks of another size would flourish, and back and forth. I do realize these finches weren’t killing each other off, but humans aren’t the only species that kills its own. Take monkeys and apes, for instance. Or even spiders. Why would a black widow need to kill her mate, really?

    I do agree with you, however, on the human brain being big enough for us to rationalize killing each other. A smart enough person can rationalize anything. It’s what makes us different from every other animal in the world.

  5. Very true, but I thought the finches with different beak sizes were… different species. I think I’m correct, as all finches belong to the family fringillidae. But that’s just a technicality — as the different finch species probably came about due to a mutation to adapt to a certain food source… Meaning they came from the same “original” finch.

  6. Wow, I’ve never actually seen that video before. I’ve always heard about it and I suppose it’s been at the back of my mind, but I’m glad you posted it. I believe the only thing stopping humans from animalistic violence is exactly what makes us human. With a sane conscience violence can’t be present without guilt.

Leave a Reply

