Differences

The days are winding down (20 more to go) to Japan and I have yet to pack my clothes. Heh.

However, I am doing my homework on the culture and (a little bit of) history of the Japanese people. I was directed to a blog written by another former Foreign Teacher from the same company that I will be working for (I am leaving out names for everyone’s protection), and I must say, I was very disappointed. What he wrote about his experience with this company was supposed to be the “truth” about what it’s like to work for them. Apparently he and the company had some disagreements. What disappointed me wasn’t so much the company but, rather, what he had to say. His blog was very informative, and I certainly got some useful tips out of it. But I was completely unimpressed with him. He complained about certain aspects of the Japanese world of business and, quite frankly, he should have known better. What he was so upset about was the way the Japanese handled situations. He didn’t like that he could not argue with his manager about something at a business meeting. He felt like he was being stifled and that he was not allowed to be “productive” via speaking his mind. He was also very taken aback by what he saw as passive aggressiveness in the Japanese.

Now, I don’t have to go to Japan to know that the Japanese highly prize group solidarity, especially within the business world. Just look at the way Japanese businessmen dress. See any bright colors? See anybody trying to stand out or beat the system? I don’t.

This blogger claims that he went to Japan to explore it and learn about another culture and yet he was kept from doing so because he had to work all the time. There’s no such thing as a free lunch, buddy! But more than that, he cheated himself out of the Japanese cultural education because it was happening to him the entire time he was there! Alas, he was too busy imposing his American standards of behavior on everyone he worked with to open up his mind and broaden his horizons.

I’m glad I read the blog, really, because it is a reminder to me that when I go to this brand new Eastern world, I should let myself be open to and understanding of the differences I know I will encounter. I may be going to to Japan to teach English conversation, but I’m not there to change the Japanese into Americans. I’ll do what I can to help them understand Americans and our nuances. But I won’t judge them for it if it doesn’t come naturally to them. This is a learning experience on both sides and I am happy to help create this bridge of communication.

One thought on “Differences

  1. Given where I found the link to your blog… I am pretty sure I know which company you are working for in Japan. (Sorry, I know that sounds stalkery, but I promise it wasn’t meant to. :( ) Anyway, I’m similarly pretty sure I know which blog you’re talking about. I worked for that company at one point. I’m one of those horrible people they talk about that quit in the middle of a contract.

    Yes, the person in the blog I am thinking of complains about some silly things but honestly – as with all eikaiwa… it depends ENTIRELY on your branch, and especially your manager. My manager was not so good, and therefore I hated my life. If your manager is good, you’ll have a good time. It’s not a bad company to work for, all told – but they put a lot of pressure on the managers and depending on how they handle effects how it hits you. Mine was not so good at it. Luck of the draw.

    Anyway, this is totally longer than necessary – if you read this and aren’t totally afraid of me for wandering here feel free to email me and I’ll explain my route here, too.

Leave a Reply

